Newton House Museum South Arkansas Historical Preservation Society Events Contact Us

South Arkansas Historical Preservation Society

Organized in the 1970's, the South Arkansas Historical Preservation Society, Inc., formerly known as the South Arkansas Historical Foundation, Inc., has been dedicated to educating the public about Arkansas' rich history for over 30 years.  Its most important project has been the restoration and preservation of the Newton House Museum.  External restoration work was completed in 1983 and ongoing tours allow the public a glimpse into life in 19th century Arkansas.  With the Newton House as its focal point, this not-for-profit organization continues to promote the study of the history of southern Arkansas, Union County, and El Dorado.

The Preservation Society

The Preservation Society was created in 2009 to act as the Friends support organization for the SAHPS and its activities.  Membership in the society supports the preservation of the Newton House Museum and the educational programs regularly offered under the society's banner.  Recent educational programs have included lectures on the De Soto Expedition, timber industry, the War Between the States, African-American genealogy, colonial Natchez, and regional archaeological discoveries.
Membership levels range from Friend ($25) to Benefactor ($1000).  Dues are annual and the Preservation Society members act as the primary sponsors of educational programs offered by the SAHF every year.  All members will receive The Sentinel, the official newsletter of the SAHF. Click here for membership information.

Media has moved here >>>

Mission Statement

The purpose of the South Arkansas Historical Preservation Society, Inc. is to share the history of South Arkansas by collecting and preserving stories, genealogies, documents, artifacts from past generations and to promote the history of South Arkansas through events, printed material and new technologies.
Adopted 10-15-2007


Jack Wilson, Business Manager
Paula Kinnaird, Office Manager
Cindy Hobbs, Accounting

SAHPS Board of Directors 2016


Diane Alderson , Chairman
John Thomas Shepherd, Vice Chairman
Teresa Botner , Secretary
William Campbell, Treasurer

Board Members

Diane Alderson (Ex-Officio)
Charlotte Baine
Dorathy Boulden
Rosalind Jeffery
Candi Mattocks
John Moore
Barry Dobson
Bob Watson
Cortney Crotty
Ken Van Hook



2014 990 Form

2014 Audit