South Arkansas Historical Preservation Society

SAHPS News and Press Releases


Dr. Ken Bridges received the 2015 Keeping History Alive Award and Mickey & Diane Murfee received the John Abbott Award for Historic Preservation at the 2015 Keeping History Alive Banquet held in El Dorado on October 23rd.  The Murfees were presented the Abbott Award for their restoration and maintenance efforts at Oakland, a Colonial Revival home located in El Dorado.  Dr. Bridges received the KHA Award for his many efforts at promoting Arkansas history including his History Minute column that now appears in forty newspapers around the state.  The banquet also featured an excellent keynote address by Prof. Ben Johnson and witnessed the induction of Albert Rust and Matthew Rainey into the Heroes & Legends history hall of fame.  Our thanks to Prof. Johnson, former Arkansas Governor Jim Guy Tucker, and retired Arkansas supreme court justice Robert L. Brown.  Pictures courtesy of the El Dorado News-Times.